Let the Sun Shine, Let the Sunshine In

The wonderfully entertaining, inspiring, and brilliant mind over at From One Crazy Life to Another nominated me for the Sunshine Award!  I still haven’t quite figured out what it is…but I’m unbelievably flattered anyway!

So the rules are as follows:

  • Thank the person who nominated you: THANKS AMANDA!  Y’all should go check her out.  Incredibly inspiring, and very entertaining 🙂
  • List 11 facts about you
  • Nominate 10 other blogs (I might have to skimp a bit here, considering I don’t know that I follow 10 blogs just yet…)
  • Announce the nominations to those you nominated!

11 Facts About Me

  1. I went into teaching on a whim.  Not even kidding – I spent a brief two hours with a friend’s 2-3 year olds and thought I want to do this for a living.  Tada!  Teacher in the making.
  2. I come from a line of teachers: My grandfather taught high school and then neurobiology at a local community college, my mother taught Jr. High math for about 20 years before going into administration, and my sister taught Jr. High English before continuing to get her PhD.
  3. I love fiction.  Non-fiction, not so much.  In particular, I prefer fiction books revolving around the science of the brain (check out Lisa Genova for some AWESOME reads), and also about the traditions of other cultures (Khaled Hosseini and Jhumpa Lahiri are my current preferences).
  4. I worked at Starbucks for nearly 2 years, so I can pretty much tell you the secret way to order “cheap” coffee
  5. I love Animal Planet.  Particularly Too Cute! and Meerkat Manor.
  6. I follow 3 TV shows: Grey’s Anatomy, How I Met Your Mother, and Once Upon a Time
  7. I love snow, but only when it’s falling.  After it stops falling, I want it gone.
  8. I have my bachelor’s degree in music history.  Why music history you ask?  Well, because I started in Music Ed, but that didn’t suit me very well because I prefer listening to music, not so much teaching it or playing it all the time.
  9. Oh, I play the flute 🙂  Started it in fifth grade, played it until I was 22 years old.  Haven’t really picked it up since graduating in 2010.  Hope to change that soon.
  10. I also play piano, clarinet, recorder (legit, not just hot cross buns), and I want to bring this music into my classroom someday.  I truly believe it alters the way minds think and retain information, though I understand that I can’t play classical music during math in order to boost my students grades.  That’s poppycock.
  11. I’ve been dating this one guy for about four years now.  He played hockey at the university we both attended, and I drove the Zamboni (a twelfth fact!).  It’s kind of like the football-cheerleader thing, but we can’t figure out which role is the football player and which is the cheerleader.  Anywho, I swore I would never date a hockey player (b/c they smell) and I ended up dating one of the smelliest positions.  Seriously, they have a TON of gear that traps sweat.

The Blogs I Nominated

Ok, so I did some digging and found out that the Sunshine Award is a way for blogs to get discovered, liked, commented on, and so forth.  It’s a way of getting our names out there to others, which I am ALL for considering my blog is so young!  So, without further ado, I give you the few blogs I follow for nomination:

  • Live Long and Prosper – A retired teacher from Indiana, he has many wonderful things to say on education
  • The Monster in Your Closet – Elizabeth is a wonderful writer and story teller.  I’m also fascinated by everything she has done in her life so far!
  • Talking Math With Your Kids – Now, I admit I haven’t read much of this blogger, but I can already tell I’m going to love it
  • Journey Through L – the L stands for Law, though I guess it could be for Life too 🙂  Her writing style is fantastic and her humor is pretty great too
  • Squarehead Teachers – I love any cooperation between teachers, and this is a pretty great one
  • Hilbert’s Hotel – A young but innovative math/science teacher.  I find him inspiring, especially as I get ready to step into the role of new-teacher-on-the-block (or hall?)
  • Beyond Traditional Math – She has wonderful insight on teaching math and how to make math concepts make sense to kids.  She seems to think like the munchkins do!

Voila!  It’s not quite ten, but I just don’t have that many I follow quite yet.  I’m like the new kid at school – I have a few people I talk to, but to the vast majority of the student body I don’t exist…

yet.

morticia

6 comments

Leave a Reply

