MissTake by MissTeach

Last week I went to visit the classroom I will be student teaching in soon.  The classroom is big, there are usually two teachers in the class, and there is a multitude of access to technology.

But the best part of the classroom was not the decorations.  it was not the computer cart that got wheeled in for an hour of video-making.  It was not the freedom students felt amid a structured environment.

The best part was this statement from my cooperating teacher: “Isn’t it nice to know your teacher makes mistakes too?”

Image

Shocking, right?!

She had been reading the science textbook with the kids and came across a section about the various calls whales make.  One of the calls was a mating call, so we embarked on a discussion about what mating means – finding a boyfriend or girlfriend.  After a little discussion, we moved onto the next section entitled, “Long Songs.”  On her lovey-dovey kick, my cooperating teacher accidentally said, “Love songs” and hilarity ensued.

The kids loved that she made a mistake, and I loved it too.  Too often kids are afraid to get the answer wrong, and I think we need to show them that making mistakes, choosing the wrong answer is okay.

Image

Two of these faces staring back at you is intimidating. Especially on day 1.

A little later in the day I was working with a pair of girls on their project on hurricanes.  They were supposed to be entering their pictures into moodnote, and were nearly finished but in the process of moving to a new table one of them closed the computer, exiting out of the program.  Needless to say they were devastated.  And I mean devastated. Their shoulders dropped and their faces became expressionless.  They stared at the computer and began pushing buttons, willing it’s black screen saying “your presentation has broken” to suddenly wake up again.  So I tried to calm them down: “It’s alright, just close out and open up moodnote again and I’ll log you back on.”

They were having none of it.

But after a little more coaxing, they got back on track and were organized within minutes.  When I said, “See you had nothing to worry about” they just shrugged me off like I didn’t know what they had just gone through.  I guess I still have to learn not to say I told ya so to my kiddos…one lesson at a time Miss Teach.

In other news, this is what Potential Mr. Teach and I talked about on Skype tonight: our new sheets.  We’re excited about sheets.

Image

SHEETS! And yes, my expression was solely for the purpose of this photo. Ok, it wasn’t only for this photo but I did ham it up a bit.

One comment

Leave a Reply

